Pedal Hydraulic Cider Press – timbers rough fitted

Holly, Brandon, and I put in a good effort on the new press this weekend.  We drilled holes in the oak caps and pine cores of the cross timbers – starting with drill press and Forstner bit, finishing with bit brace and auger.  We then assembled the caps to the cores with wood glue (around a quart total) and clamped, using both the 1″ threaded rods that will become the tie bars and also K-body clamps borrowed from Holly.  I had to run over to Holly’s where we got out some more oak caps since I had only made 4 in Maine instead of the necessary 8 due to a temporary brain malfunction.  Sunday morning I bonded the second pair of cross timbers, and started work on the verticals.  I then took a break to go walk the dogs around Fresh Pond, and Brandon came over later in the afternoon.  We cleaned up the joinery with rabbet plane, chisels, low angle block plane, and (new addition) carbide-tipped 3″ Bosch power planer, then belt sanded everything and dry fit it.  The result is seen in the photo below – next steps are to bore the cross timbers for the threaded rods that will bind them to the verticals, do a final dry fit to soften the edges with a roundover bit, and then assemble and finish.  It’s going to be BIG!

CIMG3484

4 Responses to “Pedal Hydraulic Cider Press – timbers rough fitted”

  1. seth jones Says:

    Hello
    Great blog and site. I make my own ciders in western New York and have used the garbage disposer grinder for the past few years. I saw on your positron cider site you attached a compresser to help cool the motor. Can you provide more specific info on that process as i have had trouble with my Kenmore 1hp disposer overheating. (I know this is an old posting for you but would love any info you could provide.
    Thanks
    Seth Jones

  2. turkeysong Says:

    I also have trouble with overheating using a garbage disposal. I was going to cut some vent holes in the housing and add one or two computer fans which are readily available for free. I’m using a 1 hp kitchenaid disposal. I modified it slightly to let the pulp through faster by filing down the outside edge of the spinning plate about a 1/16th of an inch so I wouldn’t get just pure applesauce out of it. On drier fleshed apples (which press so much better anyway) the pomace is great.. very fine with nothing much bigger than a pea, but on softer wetter apples the pulp is saucy and hard to press. If it was faster I’d be more excited about it, but if a person is only doing smaller amounts the garbage disposal seems like it can be a good method.

  3. windows direct Says:

    Hello there, You’ve done an excellent job. I will
    certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I’m confident they will be benefited from this web site.

  4. toyota of fort lauderdale Says:

    Hello, of course this paragraph is truly nice and I have learned lot
    of things from it about blogging. thanks.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

