My cup runneth over

Up at J&K’s doing some R&D work today, they weren’t here but told me to raid the garden, and I hope they don’t regret it, cuz so help me I did. So much was ripe though that I don’t think I made a dent in it – check this out

I picked zucchini, summer squash, green beens, broccoli, carrots, tomatoes, basil, and a couple small but nice ears of corn. The potatoes were looking pretty tired so for an experiment I excavated into a corner of one hill; I think they’re just done for the year, since the three red ones I took for dinner were healthy-looking and respectable size. I baked the potatoes (well, in the microwave), briefly boiled the corn, and did up a mess of the vegetables in a frying pan with chopped up tomatoes and basil. Everything was transcendently delightful – the fresh potatoes unusually creamy, the corn sweet and tender, and the veggies full of flavor. I stuffed myself to the gills, and with the exception of a splash of olive oil, every single calorie came from the garden.

It gets better – around sundown I took the dogs to the north side for a walk, and brought a couple of pails. In about an hour I picked at least two quarts of wild blackberries, and on returning to the house froze about a quart of them on a cookie sheet in return for the vegetables. Then I ate about a pint of them for dessert, along with some ice cream I pilfered from the freezer – ridiculously delicious.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.

Leave a Reply

