Going to the country, going to eat a lot of peaches

Eight years on, the orchard plan is finally edging towards ‘fruition’.  The apple trees are starting to fruit, fitfully, but since I planted on standard rootstocks it will probably take a couple of years before they produce in quantity.  But knowing it was going to take a long time, we interspersed peach trees with the apples, since they grow quickly but are generally short-lived (at least in Maine).  The largest tree is a Lars Anderson, and it set a good crop this year; maybe 30 pounds on a 12′ tall tree.

peach harvest

Alexis, Weezy, and I picked them this morning, since a good number were ripe, and the birds and bugs were starting to get at them.  The ones in the trencher in the photo above were the ripe ones, and we blanched, sliced, and froze about 4 quarts.  We gave some to the neighbors, left some in Georgetown, and brought a tray home to process as they ripen.

So far I like the Lars Anderson variety (purchased from Fedco).  This particular tree got badly mauled by a porcupine a couple years back, and I cut it back as best I could, but I was afraid it would die of fungal infection given all the broken wood.  But it has grown over nicely and came through for us this year.  There are a handful of peaches on several other trees, but the Lars seems to be the earliest, and plenty tasty.  A couple weeks back I budded a handful of different peach varieties onto about 10 plum rootstocks that I have nurseried in the orchard rows; in another year I’ll plant them out to fill in more gaps, and hopefully we get larger and larger peach crops.  If anybody has advice on how to prevent peach trees from dying unexpectedly (often with oozing rubbery clear sap), I would love to hear it.

 

3 Responses to “Going to the country, going to eat a lot of peaches”

  1. Mike Says:

    Hi,
    I have been looking for some heirloom peaches and saw Fedco had the Lars Anderson peach available. Doing a google search pulled up your posting here. I know your posting is a couple of years old but I was wondering how this Lars Anderson peach has been doing for you? The oozing sap is from peach tree borers ( I think). It is a constant problem it seems. Just have to spray them with chemicals I suppose. I have to check that out as well. I have Contender and Redhaven peach trees now. I just had the first crop of peaches last year (2016). I liked the Contender peaches very much, delicious and juicy. I was was gone out of town when the Redhaven peaches were ripe. The animals had eaten them all when I got back home.They left the peach pits under the tree for me as a “Thank You” present I’m sure. There were probably 50-60 peaches on that tree. Both trees are 3 years old ( 2013 planted).
    Thank you for your reply.
    Mike

  2. fiveislandsorchard Says:

    Mike – thanks for your note. Not sure where you are, but although peaches seem to be inconsistent and short-lived in general here in Maine, Lars Anderson seems to be as good as we’ve found – early enough to fruit every year despite the cold climate, and perhaps not as susceptible to dying early as others. I think Red Haven has fruited well for us; not sure if we’ve tried Contender. Good luck!

  3. Maureen Goronson Says:

    Hi:
    I tried to buy the Lars Anderson from Fedco, but they were sold out. Would very much like to have this tree in our orchard. We have a small farm in Scarborough. Do you know of another source from which to purchase?
    Thank you,
    Maureen

Leave a Reply

